Main content

Home

Menu

Loading wiki pages...

View
Wiki Version:
This talk takes for granted the need for a game-theoretic pragmatics treatment of the phenomenon of evaluativity, but argues that extant accounts can't generalize correctly from the positive construction to other evaluative constructions. We offer an elaboration of this Rational Speech Act analysis of vagueness, in much the same spirit as Lassiter and Goodman (2013), but incorporating insights from Barker (2002) about the context-sensitivity of evaluative constructions and Rett (2015) about the role that markedness plays in the evaluativity inferences. Our live and in-person Q&A session will take place on September 3rd at 18:00 London time / 13:00 New York time / 10:00 Los Angeles time. Please join us via Zoom: https://ucla.zoom.us/j/92015256515?pwd=b1l1d2xGdy9GUzI2SjA0N05tZlNmdz09